What time is the 2020 Hockey Corridor of Fame induction immediately? TV channel, honoured members

After a yearlong delay, the 2020 class will lastly enter hockey’s hallowed corridor.

Introduced on June 24, 2020, the category of seven males and one girl was elected to the Hockey Corridor of Fame remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The Hockey Corridor of Fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as Honoured Members,” Corridor of Fame chairman Lanny McDonald mentioned when the names had been revealed. “Their contributions to the sport of hockey are properly documented and their election to the Hockey Corridor of Fame is genuinely-earned.”

Here is all the things it’s essential know in regards to the 2020 Hockey Corridor of Fame class and when the induction ceremony will happen, together with TV time and channels.

Who’s being inducted into the Hockey Corridor of Fame for 2020?

The 18 members of the Hockey Corridor of Fame choice committee selected 5 gamers and one builder for election. The Skilled Hockey Writers’ Affiliation awards the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism and the NHL Broadcasters’ Affiliation is chargeable for the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for excellent contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Participant class

  • Marian Hossa 
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Kevin Lowe
  • Kim St-Pierre
  • Doug Wilson

Builder class

Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award: Tony Gallagher

Foster Hewitt Memorial Award: Rick Peckham 

Why is it referred to as the ’20/21′ Induction Celebration?

As a result of COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 class was not in a position to be inducted into the Hockey Corridor of Fame; due to this fact, the board opted to not elect a 2021 class in order that final 12 months’s group may have its day in a standalone ceremony.

“The magic of the induction weekend from the attitude of the brand new inductees is collaborating in a number of days of shut interplay with household, pals, former teammates, fellow legends and followers,” McDonald mentioned in October 2020. “On that premise, the Board felt that this was the fitting resolution to bestow upon the Class of 2020 the popularity and lifelong expertise they so richly deserve in all methods per previous induction lessons.”

When is the 2020 Hockey Corridor of Fame class induction ceremony?

  • Date: Monday, Nov. 15
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET

Initially scheduled for Monday, Nov. 16, 2020, the 2020 class will lastly be honored on Monday, Nov. 15, 2021.

The induction ceremony is the ultimate occasion of the Hockey Corridor of Fame weekend, which included the Hockey Corridor of Fame sport on Friday between the Flames and Maple Leafs and the Legends Traditional on Sunday. Former NHLers suited up for Workforce Scott Niedermayer or Workforce Mike Modano. 

Tips on how to watch the 2020 Hockey Corridor of Fame induction ceremony

  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Community
  • TV channel (Canada): TSN5

For the primary time since relocating to Toronto’s BCE Place (now Brookfield Place) in 1993, the gala will likely be held throughout the road and never on the Hockey Corridor of Fame.

“We’re very enthusiastic about getting again on monitor with the custom of celebrating excellence by the achievements of the distinguished Class of 2020 and a full slate of weekend actions in November,” mentioned McDonald in June 2021. “The change in venue additionally offers us extra flexibility when it comes to occasion logistics and enhances the induction ceremony expertise for all current to honour our sport’s latest legends.”

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button